Compare bank accounts in Malawi

By the Rateweb editorial team · How we rate · Product details checked 2 Aug 2026

Compare current and savings accounts from banks and licensed digital banks in Malawi on fees, transfer charges and app features.

⭐ Ratings & awards are Rateweb's independent editorial opinion — how we rate.

🎯 Not sure which is right for you? Get a personalised plan ranked for your situation. Get my plan →
Filter & sort
4 results
Widest branch network

National Bank of Malawi Current Account

The everyday cheque account from Malawi's largest listed bank, sitting alongside a full deposit range and BankNet online banking. National Bank of Malawi appears on the Reserve Bank of Malawi's register of licensed banks, and all licensed banks are member institutions of the Deposit Insurance Corporation.
★★★★☆
4.2/5 · How we rate
Not published online — request the current tariff guide from a service centre
Monthly Fee
Listed on the Reserve Bank of Malawi register of licensed commercial banks; deposits covered by the Deposit Insurance Corporation
Licence
Salaried people who want branch access plus internet and mobile banking
Best For
bank
Type
Pros
  • Backed by the country's largest bank, with an extensive service-centre footprint
  • Sits within a broad deposit family — savings, special savers, call, fixed and short-term deposits and foreign-currency accounts
  • BankNet Online and the Mo626 mobile channel give around-the-clock access without a branch visit
Cons
  • Pricing is not published on the website, so you cannot compare it against rivals before walking in
  • A cheque-based current account is heavier than most people need if you only transact digitally
  • Card and electronic-channel charges are separate from the account fee and add up quietly
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Monthly account feeNot disclosed online — ask for the tariff schedule before you sign
Card, ATM and electronic-channel chargesCharged separately; confirm the full list at account opening
Eligibility
  • Malawian resident aged 18 or over
  • Verifiable address and, for most account tiers, a regular income
  • In-person identity verification at a service centre
Documents needed
  • National ID or valid passport
  • Proof of residential address
  • Recent payslip or proof of income
  • Passport photographs (branches typically request these)
Visit National Bank of Malawi
Tiered options

NBS Bank Current Account (Silver, Gold and Platinum)

NBS Bank offers a tiered current-account range, from a bundled Silver cheque account up to Platinum for private-banking customers, plus a dedicated Diaspora transactional account. NBS Bank appears on the Reserve Bank of Malawi's register of licensed banks.
★★★★☆
4.1/5 · How we rate
Varies by tier and by bundled versus unbundled pricing — see the bank's published tariffs
Monthly Fee
Listed on the Reserve Bank of Malawi register of licensed commercial banks; deposits covered by the Deposit Insurance Corporation
Licence
Choosing a fee structure that matches how much you actually transact
Best For
bank
Type
Pros
  • Bundled and unbundled versions let you pick between a flat monthly cost and pay-per-transaction
  • A named Diaspora Transactional Account for Malawians banking from abroad
  • NBS publishes a tariffs section on its own site, which is more transparency than several rivals offer
Cons
  • Bundled accounts only pay off if you use most of the included transactions
  • The Gold tier charges additional transactions per use, so heavy months can be costly
  • Platinum and EazyTransact are aimed at high-net-worth customers and are not realistic for most applicants
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Monthly account feeTier-dependent; NBS lists charges in its tariffs section rather than on the product page
Out-of-bundle transactionsCharged per use on the Gold tier — check the count included before choosing bundled
Eligibility
  • Malawian resident aged 18 or over (Diaspora account for Malawians abroad)
  • Income or employment evidence for the salaried tiers
  • Branch identity verification
Documents needed
  • National ID or valid passport
  • Proof of residential address
  • Payslip, employment letter or proof of income
  • Passport photographs
Visit NBS Bank

First Capital Bank Malawi Current Account

A conventional current account from First Capital Bank Malawi, which also runs a simpler Fast Account for customers who want fewer formalities. First Capital Bank appears on the Reserve Bank of Malawi's register of licensed banks.
★★★★☆
4.0/5 · How we rate
Not published on the website — request the tariff guide
Monthly Fee
Listed on the Reserve Bank of Malawi register of licensed commercial banks; deposits covered by the Deposit Insurance Corporation
Licence
Customers who want one bank for personal and business accounts
Best For
bank
Type
Pros
  • A lighter Fast Account sits alongside the full current account if you want fewer requirements
  • First Banking and Prestige Banking tiers give a route to upgrade as your needs grow
  • Practical add-ons including SchoolPay for school fees and tax-payment services
Cons
  • No published pricing, so the account fee is unknowable until you enquire
  • Smaller branch and ATM footprint than National Bank of Malawi or Standard Bank
  • Prestige tier benefits are gated behind balance or income thresholds the site does not disclose
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Monthly account feeNot disclosed online — confirm in branch before opening
Visa debit card issue and replacementCharged separately; ask for the card tariff alongside the account fee
Eligibility
  • Malawian resident aged 18 or over
  • Proof of income for the standard current account
  • In-branch identity verification
Documents needed
  • National ID or valid passport
  • Proof of residential address
  • Payslip or proof of income
  • Passport photographs
Visit First Capital Bank Malawi
Published price guide

Standard Bank Malawi Transactional Account

Standard Bank Malawi's everyday transactional account, sold around its 24/7 digital channels — app, online banking, ATMs and Quickash. Standard Bank Malawi appears on the Reserve Bank of Malawi's register of licensed banks, and unusually for this market it publishes a pricing guide.
★★★★☆
4.1/5 · How we rate
Set out in the bank's published pricing guide rather than on the product page
Monthly Fee
Listed on the Reserve Bank of Malawi register of licensed commercial banks; deposits covered by the Deposit Insurance Corporation
Licence
People who bank mostly by app and want fees they can look up in advance
Best For
bank
Type
Pros
  • Publishes a pricing guide, so you can check charges before applying — rare in this market
  • Strong digital stack: app, mobile and online banking, ATMs and Quickash cardless withdrawals
  • Part of a regional group, which helps if you also bank elsewhere in southern Africa
Cons
  • The website does not name individual account variants, so you must read the pricing guide to see your options
  • Bancassurance and card products are cross-sold at opening; take them only if you want them
  • Digital-first positioning is less useful if your nearest branch is far away
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Monthly account feeListed in Standard Bank Malawi's published pricing guide — read it before you apply
ATM, Quickash and card chargesSet out separately in the same pricing guide
Eligibility
  • Malawian resident aged 18 or over
  • Proof of income or employment
  • Identity verification, in branch or through the bank's digital onboarding
Documents needed
  • National ID or valid passport
  • Proof of residential address
  • Payslip or proof of income
Visit Standard Bank Malawi

Ratings are Rateweb's editorial opinion. Product details can change — always confirm with the provider before applying. Rateweb may earn a commission on some applications. This is general information, not financial advice.

People also compare